Forest Park Ladies 5k

Wednesday 3rd July 2019 at 7:30pm

Entry not yet open.

Why not come and join in the fun and enter Warrington’s Premier Ladies Only 5k race?  This race has been ever popular since its debut in 1993 with many runners bringing all the family and having a picnic afterwards.

Every finisher receives flowers in addition to tremendous support around the course.  This race attracts a wide range of abilities which can be seen from the finishing times, 17 mins to 1 hour!

Why not give it a go and even raise funds for a charitable cause at the same time?  What do you have to lose?

The best value Ladies only race in the north west by a mile!

Race HQ

Race HQ is at the Ranger Centre in Birchwood Forest Park, postcode WA3 6UZ.

There are basic changing rooms, showers & toilets at the Ranger Centre.  These facilities are limited as they are only meant for two football teams.

We are unable to offer facilities to store bags or valuables.

Race Route

The race follows a mostly traffic free course along parkland paths, and it is fairly flat with just two small hills approaching footbridges, one of which the route crosses.

The route was re-measured by an accredited course measurer in 2015 and has remained unchanged since the first race.

The start is a little under ½ mile walk from Race HQ, under the subway into Birchwood Brook Park.  The finish is on the opposite side of the field from Race HQ.

The route follows the main footpath through Birchwood Brook Park, before passing Birchwood railway station and going up Birchwood Boulevard (the only road section of the course).  It then joins Oakwood Gate path, passing the pond and the walled garden before crossing Oakwood Gate footbridge and following the main path back past the Fire Station to the finish in the Forest Park.

To see the race route, click on the small map on the right of this page.

The race is run under UK Athletics rules, UKA Race Licence 2018-30420.  The minimum age for runners is 12 years old on race day.

How To Enter

Pre-entry is on-line only.

There is a race limit of 400.

With your race number, you will receive a race information sheet which includes a race location map and other race details.  If you want to download a copy of this, please click here

Entry fee

Attached entry: £5.50

Unattached entry: £7.50

There is a £2 surcharge for entry on the day. 

Online entry

Click here to enter the race online.

Postal entry

There are no postal entries this year, please use online entry.

Entry on the day

Entry on the day will be available subject to the race limit at a £1 surcharge.

If you want to enter on the day, please try to arrive early as it can get very busy in Race HQ.  It would help if you could bring a completed race entry form and the right money

Refund policy

Entry fees are not refundable in the unlikely event of cancellation in exceptional circumstances (e.g. weather).

If you have entered the race and are unable to run for whatever reason, like most races we are unable to offer refunds.  Also, we are not able to defer your race entry to the following year.

However we do allow you to transfer your race entry to another runner.

Transfer Of Race Entries

Spectrum Striders will allow runners to transfer their race number to another runner provided they submit a completed entry form which is clearly marked:

"Transfer runner number XXXX from previous runner "

Please give as many details of the previous runner as possible, including "age on race day".  We want to make absolutely sure we transfer the entry from the right person.  The entry form for the new runner MUST be completed as normal with age, etc.

We would much prefer all changes to get to us before the closing date, but we will accept changes on the day at Race HQ.  If you want to do this, please arrive early!

We will not charge a transfer fee to do this unless we incur a cost. We want to see the right names against the runners in the results.


Race results will be available to view at Race HQ on the evening.  We aim to have provisional results available to view on this web site on the evening of the race.

Prizes & Presentation

We give flowers to all finishers.

The prize presentation will be as soon as possible after the end of the race, once race results are available.

We offer prizes to the first three finishers as well as to veteran categories and to the first team.

Finally, there will be a spot prize draw but you can only claim your prize if you stay for the post-race presentation.

More information

If you need any information about the race that you cannot find here, This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it with details of your query.

Forest Park Ladies 5k - course record

16:59  (2000)
Jayne Spark
(Altrincham & District AC)

The runbritain web site is run by UK Athletics.  Site has lots of info on road training and racing.

Forest Park Ladies 5k - directions

View race venue & motorway junction in Google Maps

Race Venue

Ranger Centre
Birchwood Forest Park
off Moss Gate

5k Race Route

Ladies 5k route

Forest Park Ladies 5k - past winners & race statistics

 Year Winner Club Time Finishers Last finisher
Team winners
 2017 Emma Crowne
 Wrexham AC
 19:08 136 57:30 Spectrum Striders RC
 2016 Rachel Fairclough
 St Helens Striders
 19:55155 41:15 St Helens Striders
 2015 Louise Blizzard Belgrave Harriers 19:54150 43:00 Spectrum Striders RC
 2014 Diane McVey
 Wilmslow RC
 18:29151 43:46
 Wilmslow RC
 2013 Diane McVey Wilmslow RC
 18:22170 45:36 Vale Royal AC
 2012 Louise Blizzard
 Belgrave Harriers
 19:00119 44:58
 Spectrum Striders RC
 2011 Karrie Hawitt Warrington AC 18:05119 40:51 Warrington AC
 2010 Liz Whitfield Spectrum Striders RC 18:10 95 43:35 Spectrum Striders RC
 2009 Tessa McCormick Vale Royal AC 19:17 101 37:06 Vale Royal AC
 2008 Claire Davies Spectrum Striders RC 18:46 104 35:36 Spectrum Striders RC
 2007 Claire Davies Spectrum Striders RC 18:56 92 44:31 Spectrum Striders RC
 2006 Claire Davies Spectrum Striders RC 18:37 122 40:59 Spectrum Striders RC
 2005 Nicola Bird Ellesmere Port RC 18:12 176 52:13 Spectrum Striders RC
 2004 Karrie Hawitt Warrington AC 17:56 198 46:40 Spectrum Striders RC
 2003 Karen Hutchinson Horwich RMI Harriers
 19:17 184 32:26 Spectrum Striders RC
 2002 Sandra Branney Warrington AC 18:31 188 44:15 Warrington AC
 2001 Joanne Bailey West Cheshire AC 18:56 140 39:12 Spectrum Striders RC
 2000 Jayne Spark Altrincham & District AC 16:59 162 43:15 Warrington Road Runners
 1999 Jennifer Heath Sale Harriers 17:45 143 37:49 Altrincham & District AC
 1998 Ruth Clayton Ford Halewood AC 18:14 121 35:40 Spectrum Striders RC
 1997 Kerrie Wood Glossopdale Harriers 18:28 124 36:50 Spectrum Striders RC
 1996 Jennifer Clague Liverpool Harriers 17:28 101 34:35 Altrincham & District AC
 1995 Sarah Young Salford Harriers 17:23 116 40:24 Altrincham & District AC
 1994 Cecilia Greasley Macclesfield Harriers 18:22 63 34:00 Vale Royal AC
 1993 Margaret Boleman Sale Harriers 17:30 89 31:59 Altrincham & District AC

Course records are shown in bold type.