Hollins Green 5k


Peter Lowe Memorial Hollins Green 5k Road Race route

2015 race route

Spectrum Striders has agreed a new race route for 2015 with the local council.

The new route is shown below.

The start & finish are in the same place as previously.  Race HQ is also unchanged.

The route goes out towards Glazebrook for about 1.7k, with a loop of about 1.6k at the far end before returning to the village along the outbound route.

The 5k route has been accurately measured by an accredited course measurer.

Road closures

Please note that the majority of the route will be closed to road traffic for the 2015 race.

We will reopen the roads as soon as we can and we apologise for any inconvenience this may cause.

The following roads will be closed to traffic:

  • The whole of Dam Lane from the start near the Village Cross.
  • The whole of Dam Head Lane from the junction with Dam Lane to the junction with Glazebrook Lane (the B5212)
  • The whole of Bank Street from the junction with Dam Head Lane to the junction with the B5212.

The short stretch of the route along the B5212 past Glazebrook railway station will remain open to traffic.

5k series - sponsor

Many thanks to
our 5k series sponsor

 Westbrook Carpets & Laminates


The runbritain web site is run by UK Athletics.  Site has lots of info on road training and racing.

Hollins Green 5k - Race HQ

Community Centre
opposite Black Swan pub
Manchester Road
Hollins Green

Hollins Green 5k - course records

Male:  15:53  (2015)
Gavin Tomlinson (Trafford AC)

Female:  18:26  (2015)
Diane McVey (Wilmslow RC)

Please note that the course was changed substantially in 2015.

Hollins Green 5k - past winners & race statistics

 Male winner Club Time  Female winner Club Time Finishers Last finisher
 2017 Liam Burthem Liverpool Harriers 16:02  Rachel Friend Leeds City 20:31 130 39:17
 2016 Christian Prior
 Salford Harriers
 16:03  Lisa Craig
 Altrincham & DAC
 18:29 229 45:00
 2015 Gavin Tomlinson
 Trafford AC
 15:53  Diane McVey
 Wilmslow RC
 18:26 170 39:21
 2014 Martin Swensson Penny Lane Striders 15:59  Diane McVey Wilmslow RC 18:18 133 38:27
 2013 Matthew Shaw
 Salford Harriers
 15:38  Diane McVey
 Wilmslow RC
 17:57 226 33:43
 2012 Liam Renton
 Warrington AC
 15:42  Louise Blizzard
 Belgrave Harriers 18:06 269 34:26
 2011 Paul Martelletti Victoria Park Harriers  14:54  Louisa Thompson Leigh Harriers & AC 18:00 203 37:20
 2010 Damian Nicholls Wilmslow RC 15:18  Liz Whitfield Spectrum Striders RC 18:32 245 33:57
 2009 Gareth Booth Horwich RMI Harriers & AC
 16:17  Heather Timmins Warrington AC 18:08 193 30:59
 2008 Damian Nicholls Wilmslow RC 15:43  Candice Taylor Clayton-le-Moors Harriers 17:40 231 34:48
 2007 Tarus Elly Salford Harriers & AC
 15:31  Olivia Walwyn City of Norwich AC 17:18 189 39:10
 2006 Tarus Elly Salford Harriers & AC
 15:12  Jennifer Smith Warrington AC 18:03 158 38:40
 2005 Paul Howarth Wirral AC 15:07  Nicky Archer Vale Royal AC 18:31 162 38:24
 2004 Richard Ward Belgrave Harriers 14:56  Lisa Heyes Horwich RMI Harriers & AC
 17:49 139 46:00
 2003 Richard Ward Belgrave Harriers 15:06  Alexia Hamilton-Morris Wrexham AC 18:46 125 32:45
 2002 Nick Jones Tipton Harriers 15:28  Jackie Thorn Vale Royal AC 19:10 101 38:40

Course records are shown in bold type[Please note that the course changed substantially in 2015.]

Team winners

 Year Male Team Female Team
 2017 Lymm Runners Spectrum Striders RC
 2016 South Cheshire Harriers
 Spectrum Striders RC
 2015 Spectrum Striders RC
 Wilmslow RC
 2014 Sale Harriers Manchester
 Lymm Runners
 2013 Warrington AC
 Wilmslow RC
 2012 Vale Royal AC
 Vale Royal AC
 2011 Warrington AC Spectrum Striders RC
 2010 Wilmslow RC Vale Royal AC
 2009 Altrincham & District AC Spectrum Striders RC
 2008 Macclesfield Harriers AC Macclesfield Harriers AC
 2007 Altrincham & District AC Spectrum Striders RC
 2006 Manchester Harriers & AC
 Warrington AC
 2005 Army Athletics Association Vale Royal AC
 2004 Warrington AC Vale Royal AC
 2003 Warrington AC Spectrum Striders RC
 2002 Wigan Phoenix RC Spectrum Striders RC